Rise Up Like The Sun

Caught Riding A Bicycle.....
The Alchemist Of Electric Morris
Fairport Convention
Steeleye Span
No Roses
Battle of the Field
The Compleat Dancing Master
The Etchingham Steam Band
Morris On
The Prospect Before Us
Live At The BBC: 1977/1982
Rattlebone and Ploughjack
Kickin' Up The Sawdust
Rise Up Like The Sun
Lark Rise To Candleford
Light Shining
Shuffle Off !
Under The Rose
A Christmas Present From The Albion Band
Stella Maris
The Wild Side Of Town
Live At The Cambridge Folk Festival
I Got New Shoes
An Hour with Cecil Sharp & Ashley Hutchings
Give Me a Saddle, I'll Trade You a Car
Sway With Me
Before Us Stands Yesterday
Christmas Album
Along The Downs
Street Cries
The BBC Sessions
An Evening With The Albion Band
Human Nature
As I Cycled Out On A May Morning
Visions of The Daughters of Albion
The Albion Band: The Final Round Up
Some Colours Fly
The Knitting Song and About Dawn
Rainbow Chasers Alive and Well
A Brilliant Light
The Albion Christmas Band
Albion Links

Rise Up Like The Sun [click for larger image]
Harvest SHSP 4092 (LP, UK, 1978)

Rise Up Like the Sun
The Albion Band

Harvest SHSP 4092 (LP, UK, 1978)
EMI CDEMS 1460 / 0777 7 80058 2 7 (CD, UK, 1992)
Fledg'ling Records FLED 3040 (CD, UK, May 2003)

Album produced by Joe Boyd and John Tams
Engineered by Vic Gamm
Recorded at Olympic No. 1 and Sound Techniques Studios
Mixed at CBS Studios
Cover Painting by Josh Partridge

the ensmble

Pete Bullock - synthesiser, piano, clarinet, baritone saxophone, organ
Michael Gregory - drums, nakers, tambourine
Ashley Hutchings - electric bass
Dave Mattacks - drums, tambourine
Simon Nicol - vocals, electric guitars, acoustic guitar
Phil Pickett - shawms, bagpipes, curtals, trumpet
Ric Sanders - violin, violectra
John Tams - vocals, melodeon
Graeme Taylor - electric guitar, acoustic guitar
Kate McGarrigle, Julie Covington,
Linda Thompson, Pat Donaldson,
Richard Thompson, Martin Carthy,
Andy Fairweather-Lowe, Dave Bristow.
Martin Carthy contributes backing vocals
only, on tracks 1, 2, 5 and 8.

Rise Up Like The Sun. [click for larger image]

side one

Ragged Heroes (3:20)

Poor Old Horse (6:18)

Afro Blue / Danse Royale (4:52)

Ampleforth / Lay Me Low (5:44)

side two

Time to Ring Some Changes (2:51)

House in the Country (3:07)

The Primrose (3:19)

Gresford Disaster (10:49)

The CD re-release has four extra tracks:

The Postman's Knock (single version) (2:38)

Pain and Paradise (single version) (3:04)

Lay Me Low (single version, different from track 4) (2:53)

Rainbow over the Hill (previously unreleased) (3:18)

 the ashley hutchings website
is  2002/2003/2004/2005/
all rights reserved